Gift of Chakras

Short notes about the seven chakras.

The word chakra literally translates as "wheel" or "disk" and refers to a spinning sphere of bioenergetic activity. There are seven of these wheels stacked in a column of energy that spans from the base of the spine to the top of the head.

CHAKRA ONE: Muladhara (root)
Color: Red
Location: Base of Spine
This is our tribal connection, the root, the place we feel grounded. We nee d to be strong, here, at the place where the seed of who we are to become, is born.
CHAKRA TWO: Svadhisthana (sweetness)
Color: Orange
Location: Lower Abdomen
Sacral Plexus
The second chakra is concerned with fluidity and movement, sexuality, and the expressions of emotion and passion.
CHAKRA THREE: Manipura (lustrous gem)
Color: Yellow
Location: Solar Plexus
A healthy third chakra is about self-understanding and listening to our internal guidance, our internal wisdom. It is the place where we learn to respond to our "gut feelings" our intuitions.
CHAKRA FOUR: Anahata (unstruck)
Color: Green
Location: Chest, Heart
Here lives compassion, for self, for loved ones, for strangers. The capacity to "walk a mile in someone else’s shoes," to extend grace and forgiveness and tenderness, beyond all comprehending, abides here.
CHAKRA FIVE: Vissudha (purification)
Color: Bright blue
Location: Throat
Chakra five is about self-expression and telling the truth.
CHAKRA SIX: Ajna (to perceive)
Color: Indigo
Location: Forehead, Brow, Third Eye
The sixth chakra opens our consciousness so that we might see past our own limited understanding.
CHAKRA SEVEN: Sahasrara (thousandfold)
Color: Violet
Location: Cerebral Cortex
Entering into the energy of the seventh chakra we understand that we are part of every living being, and that every living being is a part of us. It is to truly know that we are One.